Friday, 12 August 2011

Nepal U-19 gets tough group

Nepal is drawn with defending champions and hosts Australia, 1998-winner England and Ireland in Group A for the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2012.
“The event will get underway in Queensland exactly one year from today and Scotland will be there as the leading Associate after winning eight of its nine matches during the qualifiers, which took place in Dublin and Derry,” International Cricket Council (ICC) said in a release.
Nepal U-19 was tagged ´giant killer´ as it had defeated Pakistan in U-19 World Cup 2000 to reach the super league round of the tournament and defeated South Africa and New Zealand in 2006 to win the plate championship. However, Nepal had failed to qualify for the 2010 edition of the U-19 World Cup after participating in five consecutive editions since 2000.It would be a tall order for Nepal U-19 to stand up to the ´giant killer´ image in the upcoming World Cup as it has been drawn in one of the toughest groups.

This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for elite young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It’s an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world’s best at this level.

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012: Groupings
Group A: Australia , England , Nepal , Ireland 

Group B: Pakistan , New Zealand , Scotland , Afghanistan 
Group C: West Indies , India , Zimbabwe ,Papua New Guinea
Group D: Sri Lanka , South Africa , Bangladesh , Namibia 


Post a Comment