Sunday, 5 May 2013

Nepal Crowned Division 3 Champions

Nepal defeated Uganda comprehensively in the Final of ICC World Cricket League  Division 3 by 5 wickets and were crowned champions of the tournament. With the win Nepal also avenged its loss to Uganda in the League stage of tournament.
Nepal started the tournament in the worst way possible, losing 2 matches in a row so badly that they were at the bottom the points table and on verge of Relegation. Nepal however fought back winning 3 of its last games, overhauled the second position from USA with better run Rate to make it to the final of the tournament.
Coming in the match with high spirits, Nepal first restricted Uganda to 151 runs in 50 overs thanks to exceptional bowling from the spinners. Nepal then chased down the total thanks to half centuries from opener Pradeep Airee and Sharad Veswarkar.
Earlier Uganda had  set up a target of 152 runs for Nepal. Muhumuza top scored for Uganda with 28. Sematimba added 27 while captain Arinaitwe scored 23; but it was pair of Charles Waiswa and Richard Okia who gave the final push scoring 13(13) and 16(13) balls respectively. The pair added unbeaten 23 runs for the ninth wicket in 2.5 overs. It was the fourth highest partnership of the day. The first being between Muhumuza and Arinaitwe for 6th of 46 runs.
Basanta and Rahul picked up two wickets for Nepal while Prithu, Paras and Shakti bagged 1 wicket each to restrict Uganda to small total. Nepal  played the match with out a front line seam bowler as well.
Nepal made a shakey start losing Khakurel(4) in the first ball of third over to Waissa at team total of 8.Gyanendra and Pradeep added 21 runs for the second wicket- Pradeep got 16 of those 21 runs.
Mall fell for personal score fot five runs at team’s total if 29 at the end of 8th over. Nepal lost in form skipper Paras Khadka 2.4 overs and 1 runs later at team total of 30.
Nepal then in garve concern. Veswarker then joined Pradeep in the middle and the duo added 77 runs for the fourth wicket.
The first five overs of the partnership fetched as many runs as the overs. Nepal were 35/3 in the 15th over and a tad behind the runrate. The 16th over however fetched 20 runs all credits to Pradeep who smacked two fours and two sixes in that over to bring Nepal’s chase to right track.
Pradeep eventually got to his 50 off 79 balls with 5 fours and 3 sixes.
Pardeep fell for personal score of 60 runs of with 5 fours and 4 sixes, can ught by Kyobe of Ssenyondo.
Binod Bhandari the joined Veswarkar to the crease but made an early walk back to the pavilion adding just 5 runs caught by Muhumuza off Ssenyondo. That was Ssenyondo’s second wicket off the day.
Nepal then 113/5 with 39 more run to win.
Prithu came into bat at number 7. Veswarkar and Prithu piled the remaining runs.
Prithu started slow and had only 1 runs in 13 balls but the game unbeaten in 19 of 23 balls. He smacked a six and four in the 38th over.
Veswarkar was on 46 n.o when Nepal needed 3 to win. He smacked the ball for four to score the winning runs for Nepal and also to get a well deserved half Century .
This was the second fifty of the tournament for Veswarkar.

Match Summary
Nepal vs. Uganda
Toss: Uganda
RESULT : NEPAL WON by 5 wickets and Crowned DIVISION 3 Champions
End of first Innings
Uganda 151/8 in 50 overs
Muhumuza 28, Sematimba 27 and *Arinattwe 23
Basanta 2/24 Rahul 2/34 Prithu 1/15
Nepal 153/5 in 39.2 overs
Pradeep 60 Veswarkar 50* Prithu 19*
Ssenyondo 2/29 Waiswa 1/20 Arinaitwe 1/39



Post a Comment